What a difference a day makes…

I sit here, at the end of Thursday 18th February, 2016, somewhat dazed by the last few hours.

You may, (or may not), have noticed I’ve been a little quiet of late. And, you’ll remember my last post was about the fact I was planning to self-publish  my novel this year.

2016 has not entirely gone as I planned. Which, it turns out, is really quite exciting… If you could see me now, you would see the face of an aspiring writer about to become a debut novelist, and by that very token: becoming legit. So no, it’s not wind you can spot through my smile, it’s excitement – with a generous dose of fear. (Massive quantities of fear in fact: I mean, good god this is scary… nobody mentioned that bit!)  I have a book deal. I have a publisher. My debut How To Mend A Broken Heart is out in July of 2016. I HAVE A BOOK DEAL!!!!!!!

The publisher in question is the lovely Kirsty Greenwood at the brilliant and exciting Bookouture. I am thrilled to be part of the team, have heard great things about their approach and can’t wait to get stuck in to producing the best book I can with their support and guidance.

I’ll be honest, I’m still so flummoxed by the whole thing that I don’t really know what to type. Which doesn’t bode well now that I have a contract expecting me to write stuff and deliver it back by deadlines and be good and that. I’m sure it’ll be fine. It’ll all be fine….

I HAVE A BOOK DEAL!!!!!!!!

To those people who’ve read most of my posts and put up with the whining: thank you. This blog was always about charting the journey of someone who writes in the hope someone might read. This is the first time I’ve ever felt able to actually call myself a writer. The journey to this point hasn’t remotely gone as I planned, there have been all sorts of lessons learned, not least that actually: a dose of self-belief, coupled with getting your head down and getting on with it, will eventually bring about what you dream of. And the shape of it, just might be a glorious surprise!

Now forgive me for going silent again, I have edits and work to do…

I HAVE A BOOK DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

X

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

